Your Journey Starts Here

Welcome to the Resource Library! Congratulations on your commitment to reconciliation. Explore and embrace the wealth of knowledge within, fostering inclusivity and understanding in every workplace. Let the journey begin!

Play Video

7 Sacred Teachings


*Artwork by Kait Matthews, an Ojibwe and Potowatomi artist

For many generations, the Anishinaabe Ojibway people like many other tribes have followed the old passed down teachings.

It has often been said that if you follow these teachings you will have a good life. Balance is key and there are many areas in our lives in which we must tend too.

Just like a garden has different plants so does our lives and spirits. So in order to nurture and take care of our lives, we must learn what those different aspects are.

So with that lets learn together The 7 Ojibway Teachings and Live the Good Life.

*Clicking on teaching navigates to specific page.

Love – Zaagidwin

is symbolized by the eagle. The eagle can fly highest and closest to the creator and also has the sight to see all the ways of being from great distances. To know love is to know peace. View your inner self from the perspective of all teachings. Then you will be at peace with yourself, the balance of life, all things, and also with the creator.

Respect – Mnaadendimowin

is symbolized by the buffalo. The buffalo gave every part of itself so that the people could survive. That’s how much the buffalo respected the people that walked this earth, not because he is of less value, but because he respects the balance and needs of others. Do not waste and be mindful of the balance of all living things. Do not be hurtful to yourself or others.

Bravery – Aakwa’ode’ewin

is symbolized by the bear. The mother bear has the bravery to tackle her worries and difficulties while guarding her cubs. Knowing bravery means having the fortitude to face life. Discover your inner fortitude to handle life’s challenges and the bravery to be yourself. Defend your moral convictions and what is ideal for your family, community, and yourself. Be confident in your decisions and make good decisions.

Honesty – Gwekwaadziwin

is symbolized by the raven. The Raven accepts himself as he is and knows how to use his skill. He has no desire for the power, quickness, or attractiveness of others. He maximises what he has in order to survive and thrive. Be honest with yourself and accept who you are. Make good use of the gifts you have been given. Avoid attempting to fool either yourself or others.

Wisdom – Nbwaakaawin

is symbolized by the beaver because he uses his natural gift wisely for his survival. Each person was given a gift and it’s up to us to learn what that gift is. The beaver’s gift is his teeth, the ability to cut down trees. If the beaver decided to not use his teeth one day the beaver teeth would grow too long and he would die. The same thing applies to us.

Humility – Dbaadendiziwin

is symbolized by the wolf. Being humble is to acknowledge that there is a higher spirit above you and also to think of other people before you think about anything else. For the wolf, life is lived for his pack and the ultimate shame is to be outcast. Respect your place and carry your pride with your people and praise the accomplishments of all.

Truth – DebTruth – Debwewin

is represented by the turtle as he was here during the creation of Earth and carries the teachings of life on his back. When the turtle goes on land it leaves a trail that we must follow as it carries the rest of the other teachings, respect, love, honesty, courage, wisdom, and humility. Be true to yourself and all other things.